Cherry Muffins

No more schools lessons for the time being as annual examinations will start tomorrow and so today I have more time to bake instead of lesson planning ( as from tomorrow I will start correcting soooo)

Last Saturday I went to Sicily and my mother decided to buy a BIG amount of cherries ( yes in Malta we do have cherries but according to Mum they are cheaper in Sicily) She gave me MANY cherries  and so I decided to use them in a recipe as even though they are addictive my husband and I cannot eat all this amount.

This is the recipe for 12 muffins:

2 cups all-purpose flour ( sieved)
1/2 tsp  salt
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1 c fresh cherries, pitted & coarsely chopped ( used a bit more)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 big egg
1 cup skimmed milk
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted & cooled ( I used butter I had in the fridge)

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celscius.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, sugar and cinnamon. Then add the cherries and stir gently as to coat them.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the vanilla extract, egg, milk and butter until well blended.  Add this milk mixture to the dry mixture.

Fill silicone cups ( up to half as mine are quite wide) and bake for 25 minutes.

Voila’ they are ready

out of the oven cherry muffin cherry muffin display

Leave a Reply

