Chicken pizzaiola on toasted bread

So this morning I decided I was going to do chicken breast filled with feta cheese. I woke up early, took out the chicken from the freezer to defrost and left for work. What happened is that when I arrived home I noticed that I did not take the chicken breast out but instead had defrosted  boneless chicken thighs cut into small pieces ( had asked my butcher to do so as I had in mind to do chicken curry later on this week). So…panic! I had all the ingredients for a but I could not stuff the chicken breast or thighs as my pieces were finely cut. So I did the following:

I put some sunflower oil in a pan and then diced one onion and two garlic cloves into fine pieces and left until golden. I added four roughly diced tomatoes, some fresh basil and than added the chicken pieces. I left the mixture in the pan for a few minutes

In an oven dish I placed half a bottle of tomatoe Passata and then put all the other ingredients above it. Then  I chopped some black olives and put half a cup of crumbled feta cheese on top and put in the oven for 1 hour 15 minutes ( at first I put it in the oven for 45 minutes but it was still pinkish on the inside so I dded another 30 minutes) at 220 degrees celcius.

Chicken pizziola

Chicken pizziola

I will place the chicken on some toasted bread on which I drizzled some olive oil and dried basil.

Bread ready to be toasted

Bread ready to be toasted

Hope my husband will like it! The smell is good…will take a picture of final result!

I will place some of the mixture on the toasted bread and finally I will add again some cheese …fingers crossed!

We also added a drizzle of balsamic oil and olive oilk on top and it was yummy!

Chicken pizzaiola on toast

Chicken pizzaiola on toast

Leave a Reply

