When in Rome…

I wanted to write this post since July but so many things happened since my holiday in Rome that I put my notes on my shelf and forgot all about them.

In July I went for a brief holiday in Rome. Once there I decided that I didn’t want to eat in restaurants found in the main tourist areas but wanted to find restaurants hidden in alleys  and other narrow streets a bit far from tourist filled restaurants but full of locals. (Me and my boyfriend have this idea that if the restaurant is full of locals this means that the food is good ). I am going to mention two restaurants that impressed me for one thing or another

A restaurant that we came across walking from Piazza Navona down to St Angelo’s Fort was Le Streghe in Vincolo del Curato, 13. Outside there were locals dining and the place seemed very sweet and quaint. So we opted to try the food. We didn’t dine outside as it was full but the inside it was very nice and we decided to stay there.

My boyfriend opted for spaghetti carbonara and I truly wanted that I was eating his dish! I took a  bite full and it was super delicious. The sauce was great! It was dense and nicely flavoured. When in Malta I rarely order a Carbonara but this was totally different from the ones I ever tasted in Malta.

http://osterialestreghe.com/homepage.html

Another restaurant I am going to mention is Piccolo Arancio. This place is close to Trevi fountain and is located in one of the nearby side streets. Personally I wasn’t impressed by the décor but they served something that in Malta we do very often, that is, Ravioli but with ORANGE sauce.  In Malta we usually serve cheese filled ravioli with tomato sauce. This sauce was totally different and good!

http://www.piccoloarancio.it/

Ravioli with Orange sauce

Ravioli with Orange sauce

This is an actual picture of the dish.

 

I am providing here a recipe for the orange sauce. (N.B This recipe is similar but I did not get it from the restaurant)

Ingredients:

the juice of two oranges
zest of half an orange
a glass of brandy
30 gr. of butter
2 tablespoons potato starch
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon of sugar
salt and pepper

 

 

Method

First peel half an orange and cut it into thin slices.

Squeeze the juice into a pan where and also the butter and zest.

As soon as the butter has melted add the brandy and let it evaporate.

Add a little starch to restrict the sauce.

Finally, add the spices, salt, pepper and sugar.

Hope you try it…lets make this pasta dish ZESTY  😀

 

Leave a Reply

