Ever heard of spaghetti ice cream?

Today I have been talking to a sweet student of mine and she told me that in Germany they serve spaghetti ice cream! Yes spaghetti ice cream!…Maybe some of you that have travelled a lot have seen or even tasted this but I have to admit this was the FIRST time ever I heard about it! I admit, I was flabbergasted!

Spaghetti like ice cream

Spaghetti like ice cream

image taken from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Spaghettieis_fcm.jpg)

So I searched the term on the Internet and ended up browsing through thousands of pictures of spaghetti ice cream. The actual word for it is Spaghetteis created by Dario Fontanella in Mannheim, Germany. As found on Wikipedia Spaghetteis is ‘vanilla ice cream extruded through a modified Spätzle press or potato ricer, giving it the appearance of spaghetti. It is then placed over whipped cream and topped with strawberry sauce (to simulate tomato sauce) and either coconut flakes, grated almonds, or white chocolate shavings to represent the parmesan cheese.’ I know that it is just vanilla ice cream in the shape of spaghetti but it had never occurred to me that you could serve ice cream this way!

I think that spaghetti shaped ice-cream could also be done through the spaghetti/pasta maker but I am not sure! This special machine exists…again I have never seen one before!

Spaghetti-ice-cream-machine

If anyone tries this please let me know if it is good or not! Wish someone working in an ice cream parlour in Malta reads this post and starts doing it! Just imagine having two Italian specialities into one 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ever heard of spaghetti ice cream?

  1. The spaghetti ice cream tastes heavenly and you find it in a lot of ice cream parlours in Germany. They usually also put lemon or vanilla ice cream under the spaghetti. The parlour I go to in Germany even have pizza ice cream.

    • Do you have the name of a shop/parlour that serves pizza ice cream? I found images of pizza like ice cream served in cones but I am not sure if the pizza ice cream you are referring to is this

Leave a Reply

