The Better Platter

One of the new dining trends in Malta and Gozo are wines and platter consumed in wine bars. Practically you can find a wine bar in every village around Malta and Gozo. I am not really a wine lover, I only love very sweet wines like Fragolino or Moscato d’Asti. But my friends very often organise ladies’ night out or reunions and usually they opt for wine bars as our meeting place for chattering 🙂 I usually end up drinking water but I love choosing the food platter as I love nibbles 🙂

Which are the best wine bars around Malta according to food platters? ( not wine list because I am NO expert!)

These are my favourite and I am going to list them in no particular order.

The first wine bar is Vinum Wine Bar and Bistro in  Mdina.  The place is very nice and cosy and if you stay outdoors you can also enjoy the beautiful view from the bastions of Mdina.

Vinum Mdina

http://www.vinumwinebar.com/vinum.html

I usually opt for the Vinum Special which consists of many sorts of nibbles from cheese, cold cuts to marinated clamari and octopus and a mix of dips. We usually share the platter between two persons but it can easily FEED three 😛

Vinum Special

http://www.vinumwinebar.com/menu.html

Another wine bar I particularly like is Four Seasons Club in Birkirkara

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Four-Seasons-Club/102625483119910

My friends say that the wine list is very good. What I can say is that they have the most good value platters around Malta. Portions are very good and prices are excellent 😛

The club is quite small but I love the décor especially the bottle candle holders!

Four Season Birkirkara

Another favourite with my friends is the Fortress Wine and Dine in Xemxija.

https://www.facebook.com/FortressXemxija

Fortress Xemxija

When I dine there, I usually go there during the weekend as it is quite far from where I live and after a good meal I don’t feel like a 45 minute drive back to Birzebbuga (and have to wake up early for work the day after!)

The Fortress is close to Xemxija bay and offers both indoor and outdoor dining. From the outside you can enjoy the nice view of this beach and enjoy your wine and food under a modern white tent. The inside seems medieval with high ceilings and medieval standards and banners.  The best platter of all is the American platter that has mini burgers, onion rings, chicken wings, potato wedges …. I also love the nachos platter with melted cheese on top YUMMY!!!!

Fortress

And you…Which is your favourite wine bar in Malta and Gozo? Write down your opinion below.

Leave a Reply

