What have I BEAN doing?

I haven’t posted for the last couple of months. I had a very hectic schedule with all the New Year’s activities, settling in new and positive changes in my life, preparing my students for their exams and correcting quite a few exam sheets.

But phewwwww! I can now say that most of these things are over and I am rediscovering my interest in food and cooking 🙂

So last week I tried my first ever recipe and I did it all on my own. It is actually my mother’s recipe…it is very easy, let’s say BASIC but I was quite proud of the end result and was glad that my family enjoyed the meal and was not food poisoned haha
Red Kidney beans

Basically the recipe is a Red Kidney Bean hot pasta salad. All you need are the following ingredients:

500g pasta of your choice ( I opted for the small penne lisce)

1 large can red kidney beans

2 large onions

5 garlic cloves

Some parsley

250g bacon ( or pancetta)

Butter

Grated parmesan cheese

pennette lisce 

Method:

Heat a spoonful of butter in a frying pan and in a separate pan start boiling the water for the pasta.

Chop the parsley, bacon, two onions and garlic in very fine pieces. (I managed to do this without crying my eyes out ) and put the pasta in the boiling water.

Put the onions and garlic in the frying pan and add the bacon pieces.

Fry well until the onion is soft and glazed.

Wait until the pasta is cooked AL DENTE (not too hard, not too soft)

Drain the pasta and put again in the same pan.

Add the onions, garlic and bacon mix to the pasta. Also add the red kidney beans and finely chopped parsley.

Mix well and add grated parmesan cheese to your liking.

(A very good chef 😉 suggested to add some olive oil and mozzarella balls, which I did ( even though they are not part of the original recipe) and it really helped  the mix maintain a very nice texture)

Serve whilst still hot
image

And this is it! My first attempt at all alone cooking 🙂

image

Hope you try it!

One thought on “What have I BEAN doing?

Leave a Reply

